Taking Risks: Do It

Most people tend to live their lives comfortably in their ‘safe’ zones. They keep the same friends, do the same hobbies, go to the same places, make the same decisions – time and time again.

 

Not that there’s anything wrong with that, of course.

 

I, for one, believe that I was once fond of staying in familiar grounds with familiar faces. I used to think that I was contented with where I was, who I was with, what I was doing, and what I have. I wasn’t a fan of going to far off places and eating exotic foods. I was always satisfied with learning about the wonders of the world just by reading, hearing or watching about it.

 

People do change – I certainly did.

 

As I got older, I slowly but surely began to understood what it means to ‘put yourself out there’.

 

You don’t necessarily have to change who you are nor bend your rules; you just have to take more risks and be ready for more challenging times.

 

You don’t have to do things you don’t want to do; you just have to be more open that there are people who prefer other things than the ones you do.

 

You don’t have to be someone you’re not; you just have to learn to accept others with no hesitations and no judgment.

 

Taking risks, some people say, is not for everyone. I can’t agree to that. I think that every person is capable of going that extra mile, living that extraordinary life, having that bigger dream.

 

If there are people in your life who discourage you from going out of your shell, be more understanding. Maybe those people failed to see the great side of trying something new and doing something different. Maybe they DID try but failed and they just simply never tried again. Maybe they got too hurt trying that they don’t want you to experience the same pain. Maybe they just lost sight of what it’s like to have something to look forward to, something to live for.

 

Whatever it was, or is, just let them be. Show them what it’s like to be the one who’s willing to take the risk. When you do get hurt along the way, always remember to get up with a smile. Never let your trials and tribulations hinder you from taking risks.

 

Jump if you feel like jumping.

Give if you feel like giving.

Love if you feel like loving.

 

You don’t have to live your life regarding all the rules and minding all the criticisms.

 

Take risks if you feel like doing so. You just might be surprised at how much there is that you have yet to learn and know.

Leave a Reply

